
INTRODUCTION

A tax exemption is a discharge from the 
obligation to pay all or a portion of a tax. 
Exemptions are conferred by the Legislature 
on particular categories of persons or 
property. 

Clauses 22, 22A, 22B, 22C, 22D and 22E of 
section 5 of Chapter 59 provide exemptions 
to certain veterans (and their spouses or 
surviving spouses) who were not 
dishonorably discharged and who meet 
certain residency requirements. 

APPLICATIONS 

Applications must be filed annually with the 
local assessors in the city or town where the 
property is located on or before December 
15th, or three months after the actual tax bills 
are mailed, whichever is later.  Filing an 
application does not entitle the applicant to a 
delay in tax payment. 

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS 

An individual must (1) have been a 
Massachusetts domiciliary prior to entering 
the service or (2) have lived in Massachusetts 
for not less than 5 years prior to filing for 
exemption or, in those communities which 
have accepted the alternative local option 
provision, for not less than 1 year prior to 
filing. 

DOCUMENTATION 

An applicant for an exemption must provide to 
the assessors whatever information is reasonably 
required to establish eligibility.  This information 
may include, but not limited to: 

1 Certification of a war-service connected 
disability from the Veterans Administration 
or the branch of service from which 
separated. 

2 Evidence of domicile and occupancy. 

DOMICILE 

The veteran must occupy the property as his or 
her domicile on July 1 of the tax year. 

OWNERSHIP 

1 A qualifying applicant must possess a 
sufficient ownership interest in the domicile.  
To satisfy this ownership requirement, the 
person’s interest must be worth at least 
$2,000.  the person may own this interest 
solely, as a joint owner or as a tenant in 
common. 

2 The holder of a life estate satisfies the 
ownership requirement. 

3 If the domicile is held in a trust, a person can 
only satisfy the ownership interest if he: 

a) Is a trustee or co-trustee of that trust
b) Possesses a sufficient beneficial interest

in the domicile through that trust.
(Splitting the interest between multiple
trusts does not qualify).

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
AND EXEMPTION AMOUNTS 

FOR EACH CLAUSE 

Clause 22 - $400.00   This exemption is 
available to the following classes of persons: 

1 Veterans with a war-service connected 
disability of 10% or more as determined 
by the Veterans Administration or the 
branch of service from which separated. 

2 Veterans who have been awarded the 
Purple Heart 

3 Gold Star mothers and fathers 
4 Spouses (where domicile is owned by 

the veteran’s spouse) and surviving 
spouses of veterans entitled to exemption 

5 Surviving spouses of World War I 
veterans so long as they remain 
unmarried and so long as the whole 
worth, less any mortgage on the property 
does not exceed $20,000. 

Clause 22A - $750.00   This exemptions is 
available to veterans (and their spouses or 
surviving spouses) who: 
1 

2 

Suffered in the line of duty the loss or 
permanent loss of use of one foot or one 
hand or one eye. .Received the 
Congressional Medal of Honor, 
Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross 
or Air Force Cross. 
Spouses (where veteran's spouse owns 
the domicile) or surviving spouses of 
veterans entitled to exemption under 
Clause 22A



If the subject property is greater than a 
single family house, only that fraction of 
$750 which corresponds to the segment 
occupied by the veteran will be allowed. 

Clause 22B - $1250.00   this exemption is 
available to veterans (and their spouses or 
surviving spouses) who suffered in the line 
of duty the loss or permanent loss of use of 
both feet or both hand or both eyes. 

If the subject property is greater than a 
single family house, only that fraction of 
$1250 which corresponds to the segment 
occupied by the veteran will be allowed. 

Clause 22C - $1500.00   This exemption is 
available to veterans (and their spouses or 
surviving spouses) who (1) suffered total 
disability in the line of duty and (2) who 
received assistance in acquiring “specially 
adapted housing” which they own and 
occupy as their domicile. 

If the subject property is greater than a 
single family house, only that fraction of 
$1500 which corresponds to the segment 
occupied by the veteran will be allowed. 

Clause 22D - Full   This exemption is 
available to surviving spouses (who do not 
remarry) of soldiers and sailors whose 
death occurred as a proximate result of an 
injury sustained or disease contracted in a 
combat zone, or who are missing in action 
with a presumptive finding of death or as 
a result of combat as members of the 
armed forces of the United States.

Clause 22E - $1000.00   This exemption is 
available to veterans (and their survivng 
spouses) who suffered total disability in the line 
of duty and are incapable of working. 

If the subject property is greater than a single 
family house, only that fraction of $1000 which 
corresponds to the segment occupied by the 
veteran will be allowed. 

Paraplegic - Total Exemption   This exemption 
is available to veterans and the surviving 
spouses of such veterans who are certified by 
the Veterans Administration as paraplegic. 

WARTIME SERVICE 

Wartime service is service performed by a 
Spanish War veteran, a World War I veteran, a 
World War II veteran, a Korean veteran, a 
Vietnam veteran, a Lebanese peace keeping 
force veteran, a Grenada rescue mission 
veteran, a Panamanian intervention force 
veteran, a Persian Gulf veteran, or a member of 
WAAC.  The dates for each qualifying military 
action are set out in G. L. Ch. 4 sec. 7(43).  
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, 

CONTACT YOUR BOARD OF 

ASSESSORS AT 

(508)378-1609

OR CALL:

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
DIVISION OF LOCAL SERVICES 

PROPERTY TAX BUREAU 

(617) 626-2300

(REV 8/2000) 

TAXPAYER’S GUIDE TO 

REAL ESTATE TAX 

EXEMPTIONS IN 

MASSACHUSETTS 

CLAUSE 22 
CLAUSE 22A 
CLAUSE 22B 
CLAUSE 22C 
CLAUSE 22D 
CLAUSE 22E 

QUALIFYING VETERANS 




