Board of Selectmen

David J Sheedy. Selectmen
David J. Sheedy
Selectman, Clerk

William Dowling. Selectmen.
William Dowling
Selectman, Chairman

Carole Julius. Selectmen.
Carole Julius
Selectman, Vice Chairman


The Board of Selectmen is recognized by the General Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts as the Town's body of chief elected officials with authority to enact rules and regulations establishing Town policies not otherwise governed by bylaw, the Charter, or by statute.

The Board is composed of three members who are elected to staggered three-year terms. The powers and duties of the Board of Selectmen include appointing the Town Administrator, Police Chief, Fire Chief, Highway Superintendent, and Town Accountant, as well as various boards, committees, and commissions.

The Board of Selectmen also issues certain licenses and permits such as alcohol, car dealerships, common victualler, and entertainment; enforce special sections of the Town Code; and regulate the public ways.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Brian S. Noble Town Administrator (508) 378-1601
Rebecca Johnson Administrative Assistant (508) 378-1601
Ly Nguyen Senior Clerk (508) 378-1601

Board of Selectmen

NameTitleTerm ExpiresPhone
William Dowling



(508) 378-1601

Carole Julius

VIce Chairman


(508) 378-1601

David Sheedy



(508) 378-1601