

Cities are in capital letters. * Indicates County Seat.

There are 14 Counties, with 39 cities and 312 towns.

There are fourteen communities that have applied for, and been granted, city forms of government, though they wish to be known as "The Town of". They are: *AGAWAM, AMHERST, BARNSTABLE, BRAINTREE, BRIDGEWATER, FRANKLIN, GREENFIELD, PALMER, RANDOLPH, SOUTHBRIDGE, WATERTOWN, WEST SPRINGFIELD, WEYMOUTH* and *WINTHROP*. There are four communities that have been granted the title of city though they do not have wards, they are: *AMESBURY, EASTHAMPTON, METHUEN and FRAMINGHAM*.

The geographic center of Massachusetts is the Town of Rutland, Worcester County.

Oldest Town: Plymouth - 1620 Oldest City: Boston - 1822 Newest Town: East Brookfield - 1920

Newest City: GARDNER - 1923

Smallest by population: Town of Gosnold - 75, City of NORTH ADAMS - 13,708 Largest by population: Town of Brookline - 58,732, City of BOSTON - 617,594



William Francis Galvin, Secretary of the Commonwealth

Citizen Information Service

(617) 727-7030 • 1-800-392-6090 (in Massachusetts only) • TTY: (617) 878-3889 • www.sec.state.ma.us/cis

Massachusetts Cities & Towns that have adopted the local meals tax option.

